Skip to main content
The Wheeling Year: A Poet's Field Book

The Wheeling Year: A Poet's Field Book

Current price: $14.95
Publication Date: September 1st, 2014
University of Nebraska Press
Usually Ships in 1 to 5 Days


Ted Kooser sees a writer’s workbooks as the stepping-stones on which a poet makes his way across the stream of experience toward a poem. Because those wobbly stones are only inches above the quotidian rush, what’s jotted there has an immediacy that is intimate and close to life.

Kooser, winner of the Pulitzer Prize and a former U.S. poet laureate, has filled scores of workbooks. The Wheeling Year offers a sequence of contemplative prose observations about nature, place, and time arranged according to the calendar year.

Written by one of America’s most beloved poets, this book is published in the year in which Kooser turns seventy-five, with sixty years of workbooks stretching behind him.
Purchase the audio edition.

About the Author

Ted Kooser, winner of the Pulitzer Prize in poetry and former U.S. poet laureate, is Presidential Professor of the University of Nebraska. He is the author of twelve books of poetry, including The Blizzard Voices (Nebraska, 2006) and Valentines (Nebraska, 2008) and several books of prose, including The Poetry Home Repair Manual: Practical Advice for Beginning Poets, Local Wonders: Seasons in the Bohemian Alps, and Lights on a Ground of Darkness: An Evocation of a Place and Time, all available in Bison Books editions.

Praise for The Wheeling Year: A Poet's Field Book

"Kooser is a shining example of Nebraska as the "Good Life.""—Michael Rea, Schuyler Sun

"[Kooser's] poems and this book of prose have arrived at just the right time, when we all need the reminder to lay down our phones, tablets and laptops–whatever keeps us from looking out the window or meeting the eyes of a passerby–and notice the actual world."—James Crews, Basalt